Visa Restrictions: House of Reps holds FG responsible

The House of Representatives has condemned the visa restrictions imposed on Nigerians by the United States.
The House, at the plenary on Tuesday, said the Federal Government and it's officials are to be held responsible for not complying with the earlier warnings of the US.
The Speaker, Femi Gbajabiamila, and other officials resolved to meet relevant US stakeholders towards ensuring that the restriction is removed

The USA Government  on January 31, 2020, announced a new visa regime, which involves suspension of the issuance of immigrant visas to Nigerian passport holders. It comes into effect on February 21.
The US said reasons for imposing visa restrictions on Nigerians and the five other countries’  nationals, is as a result  of non compliance  with the established identity-management and information-sharing criteria assessed by the performance metrics.
The US also said that Nigeria did not  share public and terrorism-related information necessary for the protection of the national security and public safety of the US
Nigeria is the only country restricted in West Africa  by the US Department of Home Security following a review and update of the methodology (performance metrics).
Other countries on the list are Eritrea, Myanmar, Tanzania, Sudan and Kyrgyzstan.

Post a comment

Post a Comment (0)

Previous Post Next Post

© 2020 NELOC Media Rights Reserved